Sideline Sweetie
Arkansas Razorbacks

Arkansas Gameday Dresses

Big Red, Boss Hog, and Tusk III are the well known mascot names of the University of Arkansas, but they are officially known as the Arkansas Razorbacks. Located in the heart of beautiful Fayetteville, the school was originally founded as the Arkansas Industrial University. Enrolling almost 24,000 students and with a staff of close to 4,000 members, the college is busting at the seams with students and is continuing to grown each year.

In 1871, the university was started on a place called "The Hill" because of its location on a hilltop that was looking over the Ozark Mountains. In 1872, classes officially began on January 22. One of the first buildings to be erected was "Old Main." Completed in 1875, "Old Main" was the location of many of the instructional classrooms and some of the administrative offices. It was built as a replica of a similar building that was on the campus of the University of Illinois, but the one in Illinois has since burnt down. "Old Main" still stands today and includes a bell tower, a clock tower, classrooms, the Giffels Auditorium, offices, and a few historic displays. The clock towers chimes on the hour every hour but at 5pm, the clock chimes the Alma Mater. In front of "Old Main," the lawn includes many of the trees that are native to the state. Another interesting landmark at the University of Arkansas is the Senior Walk. This sidewalk is one of a kind and has all students names listed who have earned degrees from the university. It includes 2.5 miles worth of sidewalk and includes names such as J. Edgar Hoover, Bill Clinton, and Hillary Clinton.

In the ten colleges located on the main campus, 214 areas of study are available for attaining law, bachelors, doctoral, or masters degrees. The schools and colleges located on the main campus in Fayetteville are; Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences, the Fay Jones School of Architecture, the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, the Sam M. Walton College of Business, the College of Education and Health Professions, the College of Engineering, the University of Arkansas Graduate School, the School of Law, the Honors College, and the University of Arkansas Global Campus.

On the campus there are 130 buildings. Out of these 130 buildings, there are 11 that were added to the National Register of Historic Places. As mentioned before, the "Old Main" building is the main focus on campus. Other historic buildings and places on campus include; Agriculture Annex, the Ella Carnall hall, the Original Chemistry Building, Peabody Hall, the Women's Gymnasium, the Engineering Hall, the Agriculture Building, the Chi Omega Greek Theatre, Vol Walker Hall, the Chemistry Building, Gibson Hall, the Gibson Annex, the Former Men's Gymnasium, Memorial Hall, Ozark Hall, the Home Economics Building, the Delta Gamma House, Davis Hall, the Geology Building, Gregson Hall, Holcombe Hall, Pi Kappa Alpha House, the Fine Arts Center, and the Phoenix House.

Sort by Price

Sports at Arkansas are a major part of student life. Because of the participation in the distinguished Southeastern Conference, the Razorbacks are always a major national player in sports such football, Men's basketball, and baseball. Other varsity sports that are competed in at Arkansas are; cross country, golf, tennis, track and field, gymnastics, soccer, indoor track, swimming and diving, softball, and volleyball. Out of all schools in the SEC, the Arkansas Razorbacks have won more national championships. Since 1894 Arkansas has been playing football and has been a member of the SEC since 1991. All home games are played at the Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium or at War Memorial Stadium. The Razorbacks are the only team in the NCAA Division I that has two football stadiums.

During football game day and other sporting events, you can normally hear the Hog Call, "Woo, Pig, Sooie!" This was started when some farmers came to a game and was "calling the hogs" during the plays and the cheer caught on. It is by far the schools most well known cheer. The Razorback Hog has not always been the mascot. Since the official colors are cardinal red and white, the Cardinal was originally the mascot. In 1910, after the students already calling the team the Razorbacks, a vote was cast to change the mascot. At home football games, the live Russian Boar is brought to be the live mascot. His name is Tusk III. Other costumed mascots include Boss Hog, Big Red, Sue E, and Pork Chop. The Arkansas Razorback Marching Band is one of the oldest in the United States because it was started in 1874 in the form of a Cadet Corps Band. The band always plays the Alma Mater and Fight Song at the sporting events, especially the football games. When attending the football games, make sure you check out in order to get the perfect Red and White gameday dress to support your Razorbacks!

On campus there are over 350 student clubs and organizations. You can find a club on campus that represent religious groups, special interest groups, international groups, honorary groups, cultural groups, service groups, and many, many more. The most popular group is the Associated Student Government. This organization is highly active on campus and makes many important decisions concerning the University of Arkansas. There are thirteen Sororities and seventeen fraternities on campus. The Sorority, Chi Omega, had their charter chapter on campus and the organization built a theatre on campus to honor this special chapter of their sorority. Chi Omega sorority was started in 1895 and Zeta Tau Alpha and Pi Beta Phi were the next two sororities to be added to the campus. In 1890, Kappa Sigma Fraternity was started on campus. Before 1910, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Nu, Pi Kappa Alpha, Sigma Chi, and Sigma Phi Epsilon were started as well. With an awesome Greek Life on campus, Arkansas is the host to some unforgettable fraternity and sorority events. These are some parties you do not want to miss, and not having the right thing to wear is often an excuse for girls not to attend! Do not let this happen to you! Let help you get the best wardrobe on campus!
9/10 (881 votes)

Let's Keep In Touch

Sign Up for Savings, Promo Codes,
and Sale Alerts!